NewVideoSample event

Mar 21, 2010 at 10:11 PM

I was wondering when the NewVideoSample event fires. 

I thought maybe it was raised when EnabbleSampleGrabbing was toggled to true.

I want to get the bitmap from VideoSampleArgs.

Thanks in advance,

John

Mar 22, 2010 at 12:51 AM

WOW!  We can actually get the source code!   Ultra wicked cool!

Sorry for my child-like enthusiasm...I'm new to this.  I have a form with video from my web cam!  I've played around with VB for a while and C# doesn't look at all as cryptic as C++ so having some source to gander the guts is very helpful to the learning process.

And Jer,  a hand-shake and a smack on the southern cheeks for the kit man....really generous of you to share.  Thanks man!

Coordinator
Mar 22, 2010 at 9:25 AM
Yeah the source is all there for you to use and abuse!  I can't think why you would not be getting the bitmaps, but some breakpoints in the code might give a clue.  I believe I only support 24bit RGB color spaces when enable sample grabbing is on, so it _might_ be an issue with that...but really it can be a zillion things ;).  If you find out more info I might be able to help you figure it out!

-Jer
Mar 23, 2010 at 4:23 AM

Hey, thanks for the reply.   Here's what I found in my fumbling around.

1) When i downloaded the source and made a change...I have no clue how to get the "all-inclusive" .dll with the WPFMediaKitDirectShow.Interop namespace etc.  I realised this after a build.  Inserted a refernce in my app to the DirectShow 2005 dll ...Anyway...

2)The change i made in VideoCaptureElement.cs (in green below) gives me the event in my wpf vb app:

public override void EndInit()

{

SetParameters();

PlayerVideoCaptureSource();

base.EndInit();

//added by jam

InitializeMediaPlayer();

}

Which is unchanged by me as:

protected override void InitializeMediaPlayer()

{

base.InitializeMediaPlayer();

VideoCapturePlayer.NewVideoSample += PlayerNewVideoSample;

}